I have a request of all the self-proclaimed comedians of the world: PLEASE DO NOT DO ACCENTS UNLESS YOU REALLY CAN DO THEM.
You know that one guy at work, or that chick you used to know in high school (or whoever they are to you) that always seem to insist on imitating others, quoting movies and doing accents, but they SUCK at it? Yeah, aren't they annoying? They try to impersonate Christopher Walken but end up sounding like John Travolta in Saturday Night Fever, or they are telling a joke about Italians and sound like a Mexican. They've GOT to know how bad they sound.
If anyone is laughing along to your stand up routine, they don't think you are funny, they are laughing because they can't believe how stupid you are making yourself look... I promise...
I've experienced trying to tell people like this that they suck at the impersonation game and they are always so in denial. Its really not a big freakin deal, get over the fact that you can't sound like you're Irish and just use your normal accent, nobody is gonna care. In fact they may even be happier that you stopped using the stupid accent.
Leave all the mimicking up to Frank Caliendo, he gets paid to do it, YOU DON'T.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)



No comments:
Post a Comment