1.19.2010

shorty, I can take you there...

I'm sure basically everyone has heard the popular Sean Kingston song I Can Take You There.  Its a fun loving melody the whole family can enjoy, but the lyrics pose a contradiction.  At one point he is offering a beautiful girl a trip of a life time to the tropics to enjoy fruity drinks and have a great time, not having a care in the world.  The next lines go on to say that if the tropical paradise doesn't suffice, then he would gladly take the girl to the worst parts of town where you are likely to get mugged or harmed, you can see 'killers get hung' and if not to those extremes, you are more than likely to see crime stricken neighborhoods and people who are struggling, suffering through hardships and poverty to make it.

Wow, that is a TOUGH choice... I don't even know what I would choose in that situation.  Good thing Sean Kingston hasn't asked me out or my brain might explode from the effort of the decision making process.

Surely I jest.



I would possibly vacation in a place like that, but not to the extent that he is describing.  It would sicken me to be in said 'slums' and flaunting my money and comforts of a cushy life (not that I have a wealthy or cushy life by any means).

Which brings me to my point (yes, a long, roundabout way of getting to the point, but the preface was good), I read an article today stating that a Royal Caribbean Cruise Line Ship made the decision to have a quick stop over in Haiti.  The stop, had it happened a couple of weeks ago, would have been far from news-worthy, but after the disastrous earthquake, this was shocking.  Reports say the ship also delivered relief supplies, which is admirable, but they went beyond that by trying to keep the cruise stop like any other, advertising that passengers can spend their time "shopping for trinkets at a craft market" while armed guards stand at the entry to the complex to guarantee their safety.*

In what world is it okay to go to an area that is still reeling from the destruction of a natural disaster?  How is it that anyone could comfortably venture out sight seeing, enjoying exotic cocktails and sampling the local delicacies, while only miles away, tens of thousands of bodies are being piled in the streets, and actual survivors of the disaster are on a constant hunt for food and water to try and remain a 'survivor' and not become a number among the body piles.

Hopefully in the future the Cruise Lines will thoroughly think out their routes and stops.  If it is in the cards that they aid a suffering country, perhaps they will do just that and move on immediately after, not selfishly making it seem like they are encouraging people to flaunt comfort in the faces of those riddled in despair.  I am more than positive many passengers would be okay with the quick, charitable stop.





*Thanks for the information provided by Yahoo! News

1.13.2010

make me bleed, don't make me cry

Just because you didn't hit me
Doesn't mean it doesn't hurt

I have no cuts or bruises
But this feels so much worse

I'll gladly take a punch
In exchange for the warmth of your smile

If you look at me like you love me
I'll throw myself down on the tile

Just put your arms around me
I don't care if they squeeze my neck

As long as you're always mine
You can turn my face into a wreck

I'd rather shed my blood
Then shed one more damn tear

You always say you love me
But hate is all your eyes let me hear

I can take the cuts and bruises
I know these will always heal

But my broken heart screams at you
That is all I feel...

a sheep is a sheep is a slut

what i really don't understand is people who act a certain way then get pissed when you tell them they act that way.

if you don't want people to call you something, don't be it...

how many girls do you know that act like complete sluts then get mad when they are called a slut? i know too many. this one is the absolute biggest annoyance. girls: stop being sluts, cheaters and boyfriend stealers if you don't want to be called that. it makes absolutely no sense for you to be pissed. if you go out of your way to make out with someone when you know they have a girlfriend, if you sleep around with different people all the time, if you get drunk and lose all your clothes, if you have a boyfriend or a husband and you even kiss someone who isn't him- YOU ARE A WHORE. the funny thing is you already know it. its when someone says it out loud to you or when someone says it to someone else or whatever you get all upset at that person... um, what the fuck did you think would happen? everyone was just gonna laugh when you acted slutty and would forget it the next day?

all you sluts, there is no shame in being a slut IF YOU ADMIT YOU ARE. a slut in denial is the saddest thing.

everyone start being real, please, for God's sakes...

and i don't need any messages saying i need to be true to myself about being a bitch, i am more than aware of that fact...

excuse moi?

I have a request of all the self-proclaimed comedians of the world:  PLEASE DO NOT DO ACCENTS UNLESS YOU REALLY CAN DO THEM.

You know that one guy at work, or that chick you used to know in high school (or whoever they are to you) that always seem to insist on imitating others, quoting movies and doing accents, but they SUCK at it?  Yeah, aren't they annoying?  They try to impersonate Christopher Walken but end up sounding like John Travolta in Saturday Night Fever, or they are telling a joke about Italians and sound like a Mexican.  They've GOT to know how bad they sound.

If anyone is laughing along to your stand up routine, they don't think you are funny, they are laughing because they can't believe how stupid you are making yourself look... I promise...

I've experienced trying to tell people like this that they suck at the impersonation game and they are always so in denial.  Its really not a big freakin deal, get over the fact that you can't sound like you're Irish and just use your normal accent, nobody is gonna care.  In fact they may even be happier that you stopped using the stupid accent.

Leave all the mimicking up to Frank Caliendo, he gets paid to do it, YOU DON'T.

1.12.2010

somebody think about the children!

some of the parents out there make me sick.. you know who you are too- the ones that think that just because they don't beat their kids or do drugs or whatever they think that they are good parents....

all i was hearing like a week before halloween was "ugh i don't get to do anything for halloween because i'll have my kid" sort of bull shit, and there are still some of you whiney asses bitching about it, talkin about how your halloween sucked ass because you didn't have a sitter.

holidays are first and foremost about family, ESPECIALLY halloween- halloween is a KIDS holiday, so if you have kids you ought to be making sure that your kid is having a great halloween so they can have some good memories of it.

I keep hearing about other people talking about "i wonder if i can get a sitter for xmas and new years so i can go to a rave..." are you fuckin serious? you'd rather abandon your family during the winter holiday season to go party with a bunch of other lames?

that is going to be great when your kids grow up and hate halloween and xmas because you ruined it for them. when they grow up and don't even want to celebrate it with your grandkids because the only memories they have of the holidays they SHOULD HAVE loved is you rushing them off to the damn sitter and being gone then coming home, stumbling in the door smelling like puke and cigarettes and alcohol. then the next day when they want to spend time with you, you're too tired or hung over or whatever.

you make me sick. quit being so damn selfish and go spend a holiday with your damn kids.

same with freakin new years, if you wanted to be a party animal forever you should have worn a rubber...

1.11.2010

the backward niceties of religious freaks

I believe anyone that lives in a community with a strong religious predominance understands how I feel. Living in a place where I don't belong to the religion is an experience... Especially when its Mormons I am surrounded by. I will state first that Mormons from places other than Utah are pretty normal, its living in Utah that seems to twist people.

My theory is if you're a super nice and peppy person, be that. If you're a bitch then be that. Don't be super nice and peppy only when you think it may streamline your path to Heaven or when you believe other people in your religious community may see you, then be a completely bipolar psychotic bitch when no one else is around.

I don't even want to try to get into examples, there's too many too list. Everyone needs to get the point that if you are religious, you believe in God and you want to follow your religion, um you must believe that God is watching you at ALL TIMES. You probably ought to start acting like a decent human being always, and not just when you feel its necessary to keep up your fake persona, especially if you try to shove your religious beliefs down my throat. Why the hell would I want to join your Church if all I see from it is very forced and faked niceness from people trying desperately to cling to the notion that Heaven is waiting for your arrival if you just bake your neighbors some brownies once. And really why the hell would I join if after you drop your plastic smile you tell me how every aspect of my life is wrong, you don't approve of me and you go out of your way to be extraordinarily rude to me.

Even if I forgot everything I ever knew and suddenly decided to join a religion or some other life-ruling organization, it wouldn't be one involving people like that.

1.10.2010

(melodiously) always and forever... me

Starting out for the first time, as you may see. Not familiar with this whole "blog" thing, but I guess its time to jump on the bandwagon. On top of it all people won't stop telling me to put my thoughts somewhere other than their ears, which is okay with me, my keyboard listens better than anyone I know.

That's not in a matter to say that I'm one of those emotionally overwhelmed girls that just have to express my feelings to feel any kind of release, I just really like talking and giving my opinion, but so does everyone else. This is the only way to selfishly take all the time I want in getting my words out there without being interrupted.

I'm not full of myself, I'm just honest. I can honestly say I am different (just like the rest of you). I don't like to feed people full of bullshit, I won't like what you like so you'll like me, I'm not fake... I'm just me. And just like you I like to be listened to.

So this may possibly be the worst first blog ever, but to stay on the honest-tip, I seriously don't know what I'm doing. I'll get better when I find my niche, and maybe I'll start getting more people to listen to me...