I am going to go ahead and assume that everyone is familiar with Lady Gaga's insane fashion sense. What she does is so beyond me, I feel old thinking about how ridiculous she is. Well that pretty much goes for any famous people that go beyond the goal of wanting to be a fashion icon trendsetter and just go total balls out and become trendsetters in the architectural world.
I really wish that Gaga wasn't a great singer and actually really talented, because I want to hate her. Well, not necessarily, I want for her to be one thing or the other- a whore with no talent so I can ignore her, or growing up a bit and using the talent she has to be a little more mature and tasteful so I can like her and not have to feel like I am setting a bad example for my kid. I hate what kind of examples she is setting for young women of today, I hate that she feels its necessary for her to try too hard with the clothes and hair and makeup, I hate that she thinks being extraordinarily whorish and graphic is necessary for her image. But dammit, that girl can sing and she can make a hit.
Gaga, seriously, you are not fooling anyone AT ALL with your lack of expression- we all know that when you wear the stupid shit you do that you are as uncomfortable in it as we are looking at it.
All of this is not to say that she doesn't have talent, but in most cases people really have to exhibit talent THEN become famous, THEN kind of get away with wearing stupid shit. Gaga started with stupid outfits and makeup to make us all go 'what the hell is wrong with this girl?' then she put some songs out there kind of showing some talent, then did some interviews telling the world that she will keep her legs eternally open for us all, and after all the shock and awe that is the point when she decided to show us she actually can sing.
Sorry I am so old fashioned I want my celebrities to show me why I should love them FIRST then show me why I should hate them a year or two later.
I don't hate her, I want so badly for her to chill out and show that she is a real person so I can like her like the rest of you, but while the rest of the world is in a Gaga hypnotic haze, I look and see a chick my age that tries way too hard and in most cases ends up looking like a drag queen. I am sure there is a pretty young lady under the pound of makeup, the bag of glitter, the fake lashes, the wig-like hair and the silly costumes. Just allow me once to see that, and by all means continue the silly exhibition.
I am seriuosly waiting for the day that she is finally too old to do this (i.e. Madonna) but still tries, and is forced into showing us all that there is a person under there, and she is hopefully not some personality-less robot (like Miley Cyrus and Taylor Swift, girls, be more than a pretty face!).
I'm waiting for you Lady Gaga
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)



Kid, you hit it right on the dot with this! I'm "hypnotically obsessed" with this blog about Gaga. It's epically well written and true.
ReplyDelete