11.28.2010

hungover

Have you ever been the person in your group of friends or some situation where you are shaking your head at others because it seemed like they were drinking for every single occasion, even made up ones and times in between? 

Now:  Have you ever been through some situation where all you ever feel like doing is drinking?  And all you can even think of doing is going back to the liquor store, checking the clock to see if its an acceptable time for you to be able to take a drink yet or calling up and hanging out with those friends you used to consider to be annoying drunks?

Yeah, my grandparents have always been alcoholics, so from a very young age I developed a distaste for alcohol and being drunk.  I am still an addict so I did get into some other intense addictions to substances that were just as bad as (if not worse than) alcohol.  I turned 21 and got drunk for like a week and it was whatever to me, nothing exciting.

I'm sure if you agree with me at all, whatever changed your views on alcohol was either heartbreak or the death of a close one.  I have had both of those in the last month and I just realized this morning I probably have a problem now- I am more hungover than I ever remember being, and all I can think of is a breakfast burrito and more alcohol. 

I kind of feel bad for turning up my nose at my family and friends for their drinking habits, because they probably started out just as I am right now:  losing a lover or having to bury a family member or something and just wanting to drown the sorrow for a night, and that felt so good they did it the next night as well, so they just kept doing it over and over again, and now they can't start or end the day without a drink.

I don't want to develop such a serious alcohol problem as that, but I am happy in a weird way that I now understand why some people are the way that they are and they aren't bad because of it.

Sorry this was so idiotic, and if you went through the trouble of reading this I apologize for the major waste of time...

...and bring me a fucking breakfast burrito already, damn it




No comments:

Post a Comment